High Summer Readathon Wrap-Up

high summer 2017

I had a good time getting more reading done during the High Summer Readathon (hosted by Michelle at Seasons of Reading). Here’s how it turned out:

  • My primary goal was to finish reading Sense and Sensibility for the Jane Austen Read All A-long, and I did that. (I had already read quite a bit of it, so the readathon really was just for pushing through and finishing it.)
  • I kept reading on The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins, which is for my Classics Club list, but there was no way I was going to finish it. I like the book a lot, but Collins is slow going for me.

mistletoe murder

  • For the final 48 hours, I had a delightful time with The Mistletoe Murder and Other Stories by P.D. James. This is a small volume of four short stories written for Christmas issues of magazines through the years. Three of the four stories actually take place around Christmas time, or involve Christmas events. Even without the holiday angle, they are just excellent stories in both the writing and the plotting. I’ve only recently begun to read P.D. James, and I find that she’s quickly becoming one of my favorite authors.

So that’s it! Never enough time to read all I want, of course, but I felt like this was a very respectable showing for this readathon.

One thought on “High Summer Readathon Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

